Again with the Spreadsheets

Once again I have a Pokédex going on a spreadsheet, but this time it’s to keep track of my collection in the 5th Generation. I’m also keeping tabs on the various Pokédexes of my 4th Generation games: Pearl, Platinum, and SoulSilver. While I have Diamond, it’s Japanese and I never beat the Elite 4, thus I don’t have a National dex to work on. It can’t see the event Pokémon I’ve traded to it, so I don’t feel the need to complete it. I got really close to at least seeing every Pokémon in Platinum, though, so I still want to complete it.

In the same vein, I have Pokémon Black, but I’ll only be working on filling the National dex in White. My copy of Black has the advantage of having everything evolved on it (since I worked so hard for information to transcribe over to my fauxkédex), so I can trade evolutions over to White without having to raise my own creatures again / waste elemental stones for dex completion. It also had Zekrom / Tornadus / Snivy-family.

As of this typing, I’m at a meager 207 obtained in White. I’ve been trying to pull focus back onto my SoulSilver team. I have another spreadsheet going of my likely team, their natures, roles, EVs, move sets, weaknesses, and coverage, because I’m starting to have an addiction to spreadsheets, I think. That one is going to stay on Numbers, though.

This Pokédex spreadsheet has been exported as an Excel file from my Numbers program and imported into Google Docs. Numbers has the list presented as a set of check boxes I can click on or off at will, but Excel strips that down to TRUE/FALSE when I export it. I’m just very visual, so I don’t like that as much. The Excel at my office can take those values and output an equivalent graphic, but it’s Excel 97 and I’m sure Google Docs doesn’t have that sort of functionality at all, so.

I’m spending hours and hours making pretty spreadsheets at work with dynamically updating information and formulas, too. Pretty soon I’m going to have to make a spreadsheets tag. SPREADSHEETS.

(anyway, the permanent link for this new spreadsheet is http://tinyurl.com/gen5dex .)

Future possible updates:

— Finishing putting all of the names in.

— Adding locations in-game for whatever I’m missing, or who I need to trade with (of who I know has things: friends and my own other games)

— A sheet that can be edited (if it’s possible to protect one sheet and let another be editable on the same doc) where people can add Friend Codes and possible Trading Opportunities. For the record though, I’m not going to trade any of my event-only or one-time Pokémon willy-nilly over wi-fi.

UPDATE: I haven’t been playing much anymore, and Nintendo/TPC/whatever are being pretty slow about releasing those Gen.5 Event guys… I almost missed out on some C-Gear skins because I forgot to keep up with Bulbanews! (I missed out on actually MEETING my Leafeon I played that stupid game to unlock, too. But I played the Dream World so many times and never saw it, so whatever.) I updated the spreadsheet with my current standings, because I apparently got like 30 more things since I had first published it. Well, I usually start playing again around this time of year, so we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

